Longevity claims

Epitalon

Sold as an anti-ageing peptide. Most research is from one Russian group. Its safety in people is unknown.

Not an authorised medicine

Short page. This is a short page. A full page with the complete evidence review is planned for version 1.1. The grades and regulatory status below are complete and sourced.

At a glance

Is it an approved medicine?
No. Not approved as a medicine in the EU, the UK or the US.
Has it been tested in people?
Some. Small trials in patients. No large trials published yet.
Is it allowed in sport?
No. Banned in sport at all times. Anti-doping list (WADA), section S0
What is the biggest risk?
Safety in people unknown. The FDA sees a possible cancer risk. More about the risks

Status checked on . The details and sources are further down this page.

Stop and get help if you notice

  • Hot, red, swollen or painful injection site52,2
  • Fever or chills after you inject it53,52
  • Swollen face or throat, or trouble breathing54,2

If it is severe, call your local emergency number.

The 30-second version

About 5 minutes for the short version; 13 with every detail open.

  • Epitalon is a lab-made chain of four amino acids. No country is known to have approved it.
  • Most research comes from one group in St Petersburg, Russia, and was done in animals and cells.
  • Only three small studies gave it to people. None checked its safety.
  • In cells it switches on telomerase. The FDA warns this could, in theory, raise cancer risk.
  • In July 2026, US advisers backed letting pharmacies make it. It was only advice; the law is unchanged.

Fact sheet

Class
Longevity claims
Made of
Four amino acids: alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid, glycine
Based on
An extract from cattle pineal glands
Main research source
One St Petersburg group: about 2 in 3 papers
Studies in people
Three small studies; none measured sleep or lifespan
Status in the EU
Not authorised
Tested in people
Some

Label facts, not dosing advice. Sources are in the sections below.

Last reviewed
Pink and purple stained tissue under a microscope: tightly packed cells of the pineal gland with small blood vessels between them.
This gland makes the sleep hormone melatonin. Epitalon was based on an extract of it from cattle. Photo: Nephron (Wikimedia Commons) CC BY-SA 3.0 Image details

Each section starts with the short answer. The rest is folded under “In detail”.

Evidence profile

Four separate questions. Not a score.

Human clinical evidence How far has it been tested in people?
Phase II (dose and early effect) (step 4 of 6)
Preclinical volume How much laboratory and animal research exists?
Extensive (step 3 of 3)
Source independence How many independent groups produced it?
One group dominates (step 1 of 3)
Safety characterisation How well do we know the harms in humans?
Uncharacterised (step 1 of 3)
In detail: Why these grades: the reason for each step , about 2 minutes to read
Human clinical evidence
Phase 2 on our rubric, but only just. The FDA found three studies that gave epitalon to people. The largest was a randomised, placebo-controlled study of an under-the-tongue spray in 40 women working night shifts, published in Russian by the originating institute. It measured a melatonin breakdown product in urine, not sleep, and did not say whether anyone was blinded. The authors also report better well-being (83% against 25% with placebo) without saying how they measured it.
Preclinical volume
Extensive. On 22 October 2026 PubMed held 146 records on epitalon that are not reviews or comments. After removing about eight unrelated hits, well over 50 are primary cell and animal studies.
Source independence
Single group dominant. 100 of those 146 records (68%; about 72% once unrelated hits are removed) list Khavinson, Anisimov or Linkova of the St Petersburg group as authors, and most of the rest come from institutes in the same Russian research network. Only a handful, such as a 2025 cell study from London, come from laboratories with no link to the group.
Safety characterisation
Uncharacterised. The FDA found no clinical studies assessing safety, no human pharmacokinetic data, and no acute, repeat-dose or reproductive toxicity studies. The genotoxicity and tumour data come from one group, used one dose, female mice only, and short exposures.

We never add these up. A compound can have a large animal literature from one laboratory and no human data at all — that is a specific situation, and a single number would hide it. How we grade evidence

In detail: The molecule: amino-acid sequence and technical details , about 1 minute to read
Amino-acid sequence4 amino acids

H–Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly–OH

Read from the N-terminus (start) to the C-terminus (end).

Full name
Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly tetrapeptide
Also called
Epithalon, Epithalone, AEDG peptide
Class
Longevity claims
Body systems
Hormones, Cells and mitochondria
Formula
C14H22N4O9
Molecular mass
390.35 Da

What it actually is

What is epitalon?

A lab-made chain of four amino acids, sold for anti-ageing. No country is known to have approved it.
Epitalon is lab-made, comes from one research group, and no country is known to have approved it. What is known about the substance sold under this name, checked on 22 October 2026.
Epitalon
Made in a lab?Yes A chain of four amino acids: alanine, glutamic acid, aspartic acid and glycine.1,2
Where does it come from?Unknown It was designed in St Petersburg as the possible active part of an extract of cattle pineal glands.2
Approved as a medicine anywhere?No The FDA found none in ten countries or in the EU.2,3
Tested for safety in people?No The FDA found no clinical safety studies.2

It is promoted online as an anti-ageing substance, as injections, capsules and an oral spray, some labelled for research use only.2 A Belgian public-health laboratory has found it in illegal pharmaceutical preparations.4

In detail: The molecule, and where it came from , about 1 minute to read

Epitalon is Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, formula C14H22N4O9, mass 390.35 g/mol.1,2 Researchers led by Vladimir Khavinson in St Petersburg first made it in the late 1980s. It was meant to copy what they took to be the active part of epithalamin, an extract of cattle pineal glands.2 PubChem lists “epithalamin” as another name for epitalon. That is wrong: the extract and the tetrapeptide are different products.1,2

Proposed mechanism

How does it work?

Nobody knows. In cells it switches on telomerase, which rebuilds the ends of chromosomes.
The proposed causal chain, step by step

Each step is labelled with how well the link from the previous step is established.

  1. Step 1 Binding How well this link is shown: Hypothesised

    No receptor or target has been identified

    The FDA states that the mechanisms by which epitalon changes melatonin levels are unknown, and that no pharmacokinetic data exist for people.

  2. Step 2 Cell response How well this link is shown: In cells

    Telomerase switched on in cells in a dish

    In human fetal fibroblasts, the originating group saw telomerase switched on and telomeres lengthened (2003). An independent laboratory in London saw the same in normal human cells in 2025, and telomere lengthening in two breast-cancer cell lines by another route.

  3. Step 3 Tissue response How well this link is shown: In animals

    More evening melatonin in old monkeys

    In old female rhesus monkeys, evening melatonin rose more than four-fold after 10 days of injections (originating network). In rat pineal glands kept in a dish, epitalon did not increase melatonin release.

  4. Step 4 Effect on the body How well this link is shown: Hypothesised

    Slower ageing or longer life in people: not shown

    In mice, average life span did not change, although the longest-lived tenth lived longer. No study has measured ageing, sleep or life span in people.

In detail: What each step rests on , about 1 minute to read

The telomerase finding first came from the originating group, in cells in a dish.5 In 2025 an independent laboratory in London repeated it in normal human cells.6 The melatonin finding comes from old monkeys in the originating network. In rat pineal glands kept in a dish, epitalon did not raise melatonin release, so how it would act on the gland is unclear.7,2

What the evidence actually shows

Does it work?

Unknown. Animal studies are many but come almost all from one group. People: barely studied.

About two in three papers come from one group

100 of 146

papers have an author from the St Petersburg group

What was counted PubMed records on epitalon that are not reviews or comments, with Khavinson, Anisimov or Linkova as an author (our count, 23 October 2026) Source National Library of Medicine (2026)8 Evidence Animals

Only the oldest mice lived longer

13.3%

longer life for the last tenth of survivors; average life span did not change

Who took part Anisimov 2003: 108 female mice of one strain, injections five days a month for life, originating group Source Anisimov et al. (2003)9 Evidence Animals

Many papers from one group are not the same as independent checks. The same caution applies as for BPC-157: see how one laboratory built the BPC-157 literature.

In detail: Every study in one table , about 3 minutes to read

7 studies: 1 in humans, 2 in animals, 2 in cells, 2 reviews or other.

Studies discussed on this page
Study Species n Design Funding Research group What it found What it did not show
Goncharova et al. 2001 7 Monkeys not reported Animal experiment (controlled) Not disclosed Originating group In old female rhesus monkeys, 10 days of injections raised evening melatonin more than four-fold and restored the daily cortisol rhythm; in young monkeys melatonin did not change. A small primate study in the originating network; one dose; sleep was not measured, so what it means for sleep is unknown.
Khavinson et al. 2002 10 Mixed not reported Case series Not disclosed Originating group Rats with inherited retinal degeneration kept more retinal function; the authors report a positive clinical effect in 90% of patients with degenerative retinal disease given injections next to the eye. Patient numbers, comparison group and outcome measures are not given in the abstract; originating group; a US orphan designation for this use was withdrawn in 2016.
Anisimov et al. 2003 9 Mice 108 Animal experiment (controlled) Not disclosed Originating group In 108 female mice treated five days a month for life, average life span did not change; the longest-lived 10% lived 13% longer, and leukaemia was less common, with no change in total tumours. One dose, female mice of one strain, originating group; the FDA notes the short total exposure and doubts about the control data used for the chromosome tests.
Khavinson VKh, Bondarev IE, Butyugov AA 2003 5 Cells (lab) not reported Laboratory (cells) (controlled) Not disclosed Originating group In human fetal fibroblasts grown in a dish, epitalon switched on telomerase, and telomeres grew longer. A three-page report from the originating group; cells only; no living animal or person.
Vanhee et al. 2015 4 — not reported Product testing Government Independent group A Belgian public-health laboratory identified epitalon in two illegal pharmaceutical preparations. A short letter about two products; it shows that the peptide is on the illegal market, not what typical products contain.
Ivko et al. 2020 11 Humans 40 Randomised controlled trial (controlled) Not disclosed Originating group In 40 women aged 40–50 working night shifts with low melatonin output (20 per group), 20 days of an under-the-tongue spray raised a melatonin breakdown product in urine 1.7-fold; with placebo it did not change. The authors also report better well-being in 83% against 25%. Published in Russian by the originating institute; blinding not stated; well-being measure not described; no sleep outcomes and no safety data (FDA review).
Al-Dulaimi et al. 2025 6 Cells (lab) not reported Laboratory (cells) (controlled) Academic Independent group In normal human cells, epitalon lengthened telomeres through telomerase, more at higher doses. In two breast-cancer cell lines, telomeres also lengthened, through another route that some cancer cells use. Cells in a dish; a small, self-funded study; two figures were corrected after publication; says nothing about effects in a body.

The FDA found three studies that gave epitalon to people. Two used an under-the-tongue spray in night-shift workers; one used injections next to the eye in people with retinal disease.2,10 In the randomised study, a melatonin breakdown product in urine rose with epitalon. The study did not measure sleep. The authors also report better well-being, but they do not say how they measured it.11,2 In mice, average life span did not change.9

Regulatory status

Is it legal?

No approval is known anywhere, and sport bans it. The 2026 US vote was only advice.
It is not an approved medicine. The July 2026 US vote did not change that. Status in the Netherlands, the EU and the US, and in sport, checked on 22 October 2026.
Netherlands and the EUUnited States
Approved as a medicine?No No EU or Dutch authorisation.12,13No Not FDA-approved. An orphan designation was withdrawn in 2016.2
Legal to sell or supply as a medicine?No Dutch law forbids supplying a medicine without a marketing authorisation, with narrow exceptions.14No Not until the FDA makes a rule adding it to the 503A list.15
Allowed in sport?No Banned at all times under S0, the class for unapproved substances.16,17No The same worldwide rule.16
In detail: Status in each country, and in sport , about 2 minutes to read
Regulatory status by jurisdiction
Jurisdiction Status Note Checked
European Union Not authorised No authorised product, and no record in EMA's medicines data (checked 22 October 2026). 3,12,2
Netherlands Not authorised Not authorised; supplying an unauthorised medicine is prohibited by the Geneesmiddelenwet. 13,14
Germany Not authorised Not authorised; finished medicines need a licence under AMG § 21, and the FDA found no approved product in Germany. 18,2
Belgium Not authorised Not authorised; the 1964 Medicines Act requires a licence, and the FDA found no approved product in Belgium. 19,2
United Kingdom Not authorised Not authorised; supplying an unauthorised medicinal product is prohibited by the Human Medicines Regulations 2012. 20,2
United States Not authorised Not FDA-approved. A 2010 orphan designation was withdrawn in 2016. The July 2026 advisory vote is non-binding; no rule has been made. 2,27,24,21
Sport (WADA) Prohibited in sport · S0, at all times Not named on the List, but prohibited at all times under S0 as a non-approved substance: no approval for human use is known anywhere. 16,17,22,2

All statuses were checked on 22 October 2026. The FDA found no approved epitalon product in Canada, Australia, the UK, Belgium, Ireland, France, Norway, Germany, Spain or Italy, and none authorised in the EU.2 National law requires a licence in Germany, Belgium and the UK.18,19,20 The FDA had put epitalon in category 2, for substances that may present significant safety risks; the nominations were later withdrawn.21

Epitalon is not named on the WADA list. Section S0 bans any substance that no government health authority has approved, and the 2027 List adds “peptides” to its examples.16,17,22 We found no approval anywhere: the FDA checked ten countries and the EU, and epitalon is not in a published list of peptide medicines registered in Russia.2,23 That is why we treat it as banned under S0; no anti-doping body has named it.

In detail: The July 2026 US vote, point by point , about 2 minutes to read
  • On 23 July 2026 the FDA’s Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (PCAC) voted 8–6 with one abstention to recommend BPC-157 for the 503A bulk drug substances list (count as reported from the public meeting).24,25
  • The committee considered seven peptides, including epitalon, which the FDA reviewed for insomnia.24,26 As reported from the meeting, it recommended six: BPC-157, KPV, TB-500, MOTS-c, Semax and epitalon; emideltide (DSIP) was not recommended. The FDA asked for separate votes on the free base and the acetate salt of each.25 The FDA had posted no minutes by 23 October 2026, so the counts and outcome above are as reported from the public meeting.
  • The vote is advisory and non-binding, and it went against FDA staff’s own recommendation not to list epitalon.27
  • Legal compounding remains prohibited until the FDA formally adopts the recommendation and completes rulemaking.15
  • None of these is an approved medicine in the EU, the UK or the US (Semax is registered as a medicine in Russia). A 503A listing would allow pharmacy compounding on prescription in the US. It is not a marketing authorisation, says nothing about efficacy, and changes nothing in the EU or the Netherlands.28,29,14

Risk profile

What are the risks?

Unknown in people. The FDA flags a possible cancer risk, and products are unchecked.
Several harms are possible. None has been studied properly in people. What the FDA review and the cell and animal studies suggest, as of 22 October 2026.
Possible harmShown in people?
Helping cancer cells keep dividingUnknown A worry based on how telomerase works. The animal tumour studies were too short to answer it.2
An immune reaction to the peptide or its impuritiesUnknown The FDA cannot rule it out for injections.2
Infection from germs in the productUnknown Illegal products have been found; their quality is unknown.4
Side effects in peopleUnknown No study reported safety data.2
In detail: Why a cancer effect is theorised, and the evidence on both sides , about 1 minute to read

Most body cells keep telomerase switched off, so their telomeres shorten until the cell stops dividing. That limit is one of the body’s brakes on cancer. The FDA writes that, because epitalon switches on telomerase and lengthens telomeres, continuous use “could enable cells to evade senescence and become cancerous”. It adds that long telomeres are linked to a higher risk of some cancers.2 In 2025 an independent laboratory found that epitalon also lengthened telomeres in two breast-cancer cell lines.6

On the other side, the originating group reports fewer leukaemias in treated mice, with no change in total tumours.9 The FDA notes that these studies used one dose, female mice only, and short exposures, so they cannot settle the question. No standard two-year cancer study exists.2

If someone is going to do this anyway

This section exists to reduce harm. It gives no doses, schedules or sourcing advice, and it is not a recommendation to use this compound.

How can someone lower the risk?

Check the vial first, bring a doctor in, and know when to stop.

If your product did not come from a pharmacy: check before you use it

These checks can show that something is wrong. None of them can show that a product is good or free of germs.30,31,32

Tick each box when you have checked it.

  • The seal and the vial are whole

    A broken cap or seal, or a cracked vial, can let germs in. Then do not use it.33,34,35

  • The label shows the name, amount, batch number and expiry date

    In the EU, a medicine must show all four, even on a small vial. If one is missing, or the date has passed, that is a warning sign. Take a photo of the label.36,33

  • For Epitalon

    Check which form the label names. Epitalon is sold as a free base or an acetate salt. The FDA treats them as different substances.2

  • It looks right

    A liquid, or a powder after mixing, should be clear and colourless, with no bits. Is it cloudy, has it changed colour, or do you see bits? Then do not use it.37,38

  • A lab report proves little if:

    • its batch number is not the one on your vial;
    • it does not name the lab, or has no date or signature;
    • it shows only purity (HPLC), with no test of what it is, such as mass spectrometry;
    • it has no test for germs (sterility) or for toxins from germs (endotoxin).

    Even a full report covers only one sample. A report from the seller comes from someone who gains if it looks good. It cannot show that your vial is clean.39,40,41,42,43

  • It was kept as the label says

    Heat, freezing and sunlight can damage a peptide. Did it arrive warm, or was it frozen? Then do not use it. Often nobody can tell you how it was kept on the way. If you cannot know, you cannot rule out damage. When in doubt, throw it out.38,44,45,35

  • Clean steps, and a new sterile needle and syringe every time

    Wash your hands and wipe the rubber top with alcohol. Never share a needle, a syringe or a vial.35,46,44

  • Keep the vial, its label and any papers

    Keep them, even when the vial is empty, until you know you feel well. If you need a doctor, bring them. A lab can test what was inside.47,48

  • Tell a doctor, and agree which checks fit you

    A doctor can help you choose blood tests that fit what you use. In the Netherlands, your doctor must keep what you say private.49,50,51

  • Know the warning signs before you start

    Spreading redness, fever, a swollen face or hard breathing need help fast. If it is severe, call your local emergency number.52,53,54

When to stop and get help

Sources 52, 53, 54, 2

Stop-now warning signs

Call your local emergency number now

  • Confusion or slurred speech, very fast breathing, or pale, blue or blotchy skin, often with fever or shivering These can be signs of sepsis: the body's reaction to an infection has started to damage its own organs.
  • Fainting and not waking up within a minute, or fainting with chest pain, a racing heart or a fit This can be a dangerous heart rhythm or a severe allergic reaction.
  • Pain at the injection spot that is much worse than it looks, or dark, purple or grey patches or blisters there This can be a rare, fast-spreading infection of the deep layers under the skin (necrotising fasciitis).
  • Swelling of the lips, tongue or throat, trouble breathing or swallowing, wheezing, a hoarse voice, or feeling faint, soon after an injection This can be a severe allergic reaction (anaphylaxis), which is life-threatening and gets worse very quickly.

Get medical help today

  • Fever, shivering or feeling very ill in the days after an injection Germs from the needle, the skin or the product may have reached your blood. If you also have a fast heartbeat or fast breathing, call your local emergency number.
  • Redness, heat, swelling or pain around the injection spot that keeps growing or getting worse This can be a skin infection (cellulitis), which needs antibiotics before it spreads.
  • Red lines that run from the injection spot towards the armpit or groin The infection may be spreading along the lymph vessels, and from there into the blood. If you also have a fever with a fast heartbeat or fast breathing, call your local emergency number.
  • A painful, warm lump that fills with pus This is probably an abscess: it often needs draining by a doctor, so do not squeeze it.
  • You were pricked by a needle that someone else had used Blood on a used needle can pass on HIV and hepatitis B or C, and preventive treatment works best within hours.

Stop and contact a doctor

  • You fainted, but woke up quickly and now feel well Fainting is often harmless, but a doctor should check the cause.
  • A new mole, or a mole that changes size, shape or colour, itches or bleeds A changing mole can be skin cancer, and tanning peptides such as melanotan II have been linked to new and changing moles in case reports.
  • A lump at an injection spot that does not go away, or keeps growing A doctor should check whether it is an abscess, a reaction to the product or something else.
  • An itchy, raised rash, or puffy eyes or lips, while breathing stays normal Your body may be reacting to the product, and using it again can bring the reaction back.
In detail: Checks that make sense, and who should not use it , about 1 minute to read

A doctor can help you decide which checks fit you (see talking to your doctor):

  • Cancer screening due for your age, and any new lump, bleeding or weight loss checked, because of the telomerase concern above.2
  • Anti-doping rules, if you compete: epitalon falls under S0 and is banned at all times.16

People with cancer or a history of cancer have the most to lose from the telomerase concern. There are no data on pregnancy or breastfeeding.2 See product risk and sterile technique.

Sources

Every claim on this page links to one of these sources. Scholarly sources link to their DOI; regulatory sources to the regulator's own page.

In detail: All 54 sources, numbered as in the text , about 9 minutes to read
  1. National Center for Biotechnology Information (2026). PubChem Compound Summary for CID 219042, Epitalon. PubChem. Dataset pubchem.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Briefing Document for Epitalon-Related Bulk Drug Substances (Epitalon (free base) and Epitalon acetate), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  3. European Medicines Agency (2026). Medicines (search of centrally authorised medicines and EPARs). Regulator ema.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  4. Vanhee C, Moens G, Van Hoeck E, Deconinck E, De Beer JO (2015). Identification of the small research tetra peptide Epitalon, assumed to be a potential treatment for cancer, old age and Retinitis Pigmentosa in two illegal pharmaceutical preparations. Drug Testing and Analysis 7:259-264. Research article doi:10.1002/dta.1771 (opens an external site) ↩
  5. Khavinson VKh, Bondarev IE, Butyugov AA (2003). Epithalon peptide induces telomerase activity and telomere elongation in human somatic cells. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 135:590-592. Research article doi:10.1023/a:1025493705728 (opens an external site) ↩
  6. Al-Dulaimi S, Thomas R, Matta S, Roberts T (2025). Epitalon increases telomere length in human cell lines through telomerase upregulation or ALT activity. Biogerontology 26:178. Research article doi:10.1007/s10522-025-10315-x (opens an external site) ↩
  7. Goncharova ND, Khavinson BK, Lapin BA (2001). Regulatory effect of Epithalon on production of melatonin and cortisol in old monkeys. Bulletin of Experimental Biology and Medicine 131:394-396. Research article doi:10.1023/a:1017928925177 (opens an external site) ↩
  8. National Library of Medicine (2026). PubMed searches for epitalon (epithalon, Ala-Glu-Asp-Gly, AEDG), 22 October 2026 (record counts by authorship). PubMed. Dataset pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 23 October 2026 ↩
  9. Anisimov VN, Khavinson VKh, Popovich IG, Zabezhinski MA, Alimova IN, Rosenfeld SV, Zavarzina NY, Semenchenko AV, Yashin AI (2003). Effect of Epitalon on biomarkers of aging, life span and spontaneous tumor incidence in female Swiss-derived SHR mice. Biogerontology 4:193-202. Research article doi:10.1023/a:1025114230714 (opens an external site) ↩
  10. Khavinson V, Razumovsky M, Trofimova S, Grigorian R, Razumovskaya A (2002). Pineal-regulating tetrapeptide epitalon improves eye retina condition in retinitis pigmentosa. Neuro Endocrinology Letters 23:365-368. Research article PMID 12195242 (opens an external site) ↩
  11. Ivko OM, Linkova NS, Ilina AR, Sharova AA, Ryzhak GA (2020). AEDG peptide regulates human circadian rhythms genes expression during pineal gland accelerated aging. Advances in Gerontology (Uspekhi Gerontologii) 33:429-435. Research article PMID 33280326 (opens an external site) ↩
  12. European Medicines Agency (2026). Medicines data download (JSON report of all EPARs: authorised, refused, withdrawn and suspended medicines). Dataset ema.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  13. College ter Beoordeling van Geneesmiddelen (CBG-MEB) (2026). Geneesmiddeleninformatiebank (database of medicines authorised in the Netherlands). Regulator geneesmiddeleninformatiebank.nl (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  14. Staten-Generaal / Koninkrijk der Nederlanden (2007). Geneesmiddelenwet (BWBR0021505). wetten.overheid.nl. Law wetten.overheid.nl (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  15. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Bulk Drug Substances Used in Compounding Under Section 503A of the FD&C Act. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  16. World Anti-Doping Agency (2025). World Anti-Doping Code International Standard: Prohibited List 2026. Regulator wada-ama.org (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  17. World Anti-Doping Agency (2026). World Anti-Doping Code International Standard: Prohibited List 2027 (in effect 1 January 2027). Regulator wada-ama.org (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  18. Bundesministerium der Justiz (2026). Arzneimittelgesetz (AMG), § 21 Zulassungspflicht. gesetze-im-internet.de. Law gesetze-im-internet.de (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  19. Belgische Staat / État belge (1964). Wet van 25 maart 1964 op de geneesmiddelen voor menselijk gebruik, artikel 6 § 1 (vergunning voor het in de handel brengen vereist). ejustice.just.fgov.be. Law ejustice.just.fgov.be (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  20. UK Parliament (2012). The Human Medicines Regulations 2012 (SI 2012/1916), regulation 46: Requirement for authorisation. legislation.gov.uk. Law legislation.gov.uk (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  21. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Certain Bulk Drug Substances for Use in Compounding that May Present Significant Safety Risks. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  22. World Anti-Doping Agency (2026). Summary of Major Modifications and Explanatory Notes, 2027 Prohibited List. Regulator wada-ama.org (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  23. Deigin VI, Poluektova EA, Beniashvili AG, Kozin SA, Poluektov YM (2022). Development of Peptide Biopharmaceuticals in Russia. Pharmaceutics 14:716. Review doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics14040716 (opens an external site) ↩
  24. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). July 23-24, 2026: Meeting of the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  25. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Questions, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  26. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee; Notice of Meeting; Establishment of a Public Docket; Request for Comments — Bulk Drug Substances Nominated for Inclusion on the Section 503A Bulk Drug Substances List (FR Doc. 2026-07361). Federal Register. Regulator federalregister.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  27. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Briefing Document Introduction, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  28. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Presentations, Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  29. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Briefing Document for Semax-Related Bulk Drug Substances (Semax (free base) and Semax acetate), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  30. Inspectie Gezondheidszorg en Jeugd (IGJ) (2026). Online medicijnen. Regulator igj.nl (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  31. Ashraf AR, Mackey TK, Vida RG, Kulcsár G, Schmidt J, Balázs O, Domián BM, Li J, Csákó I, Fittler A (2024). Multifactor Quality and Safety Analysis of Semaglutide Products Sold by Online Sellers Without a Prescription: Market Surveillance, Content Analysis, and Product Purchase Evaluation Study. Journal of Medical Internet Research 26:e65440. Research article doi:10.2196/65440 (opens an external site) ↩
  32. Smith RM, Schaefer MK, Kainer MA, Wise M, Finks J, et al. (2013). Fungal infections associated with contaminated methylprednisolone injections. The New England Journal of Medicine 369:1598-1609. Research article doi:10.1056/NEJMoa1213978 (opens an external site) ↩
  33. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2020). BeSafeRx: Considering an Online Pharmacy?. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  34. Hospira, Inc. / DailyMed (National Library of Medicine) (2026). Sterile Water for Injection, USP: prescribing information. Official product information dailymed.nlm.nih.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  35. World Health Organization (2010). WHO best practices for injections and related procedures toolkit (WHO/EHT/10.02). World Health Organization, Geneva. Report who.int (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  36. European Parliament and Council of the European Union (2001). Directive 2001/83/EC on the Community code relating to medicinal products for human use (consolidated text). Official Journal of the European Communities, L 311. Law eur-lex.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  37. U.S. Food and Drug Administration / DailyMed (National Library of Medicine) (2026). EGRIFTA SV (tesamorelin for injection): prescribing information and instructions for use. Official product information dailymed.nlm.nih.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  38. European Medicines Agency (2026). Wegovy (semaglutide): EPAR — overview and product information. Official product information ema.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  39. European Medicines Agency (ICH) (2000). ICH Q7 Good manufacturing practice for active pharmaceutical ingredients (CPMP/ICH/4106/00). European Medicines Agency, scientific guideline. Regulator ema.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  40. European Medicines Agency, CHMP and CVMP (2025). Guideline on the Development and Manufacture of Synthetic Peptides (EMA/CHMP/CVMP/QWP/367182/2025). European Medicines Agency. Regulator ema.europa.eu (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  41. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Briefing Document for BPC-157-Related Bulk Drug Substances (BPC-157 (free base) and BPC-157 acetate), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  42. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA Briefing Document for TB-500-Related Bulk Drug Substances (TB-500 (free base) and TB-500 acetate), Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee meeting, 23–24 July 2026. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  43. Janvier S, Cheyns K, Canfyn M, Goscinny S, De Spiegeleer B, Vanhee C, Deconinck E (2018). Impurity profiling of the most frequently encountered falsified polypeptide drugs on the Belgian market. Talanta 188:795-807. Research article doi:10.1016/j.talanta.2018.06.023 (opens an external site) ↩
  44. U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). FDA's concerns with unapproved GLP-1 drugs used for weight loss. Regulator fda.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  45. Manning MC, Chou DK, Murphy BM, Payne RW, Katayama DS (2010). Stability of protein pharmaceuticals: an update. Pharmaceutical Research 27:544-575. Review doi:10.1007/s11095-009-0045-6 (opens an external site) ↩
  46. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (2024). Preventing Unsafe Injection Practices. Regulator cdc.gov (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  47. NHS (2025). Poisoning. Web page nhs.uk (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  48. Antonacci G, Bortignon E, Bolognesi M, Piano SS, Cadore A, Camuffo L, Venturini F, Faoro S, Favretto D, Romano A, Mengato D (2026). Hypoglycaemic coma induced by a falsified semaglutide product: a case report. European Journal of Hospital Pharmacy 33:486-489. Research article doi:10.1136/ejhpharm-2025-004656 (opens an external site) ↩
  49. Thuisarts.nl (Nederlands Huisartsen Genootschap, NHG) (2024). Ik ga naar de huisarts: wat kan ik van tevoren doen en verwachten?. Web page thuisarts.nl (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  50. Department of Health, Victoria (Australia), Chief Health Officer (2026). Toxicity linked to unapproved peptide product labelled Retatrutide (health alert). Regulator health.vic.gov.au (opens an external site) — accessed 22 October 2026 ↩
  51. KNMG (Royal Dutch Medical Association) (2024). Medisch beroepsgeheim: wat en waarom. Web page knmg.nl (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  52. NHS (England) (2024). Cellulitis. Web page nhs.uk (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  53. NHS (England) (2026). Sepsis. Web page nhs.uk (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩
  54. NHS (England) (2023). Anaphylaxis. Web page nhs.uk (opens an external site) — accessed 20 October 2026 ↩